Many users have been asking how to delete a contact on Google Hangouts.
Unfortunately, Google Hangouts does not offer a built-in option for permanently deleting contacts, but it does offer options for hiding a contact, archiving, and deleting chats.
The blocking function is another way for users of Google Hangouts to completely block someone from receiving their messages.
In case you want fewer contacts to be shown on your Google Hangouts list, keep reading to learn how you can use some of the suggested methods to keep only certain contacts visible on your list.
Also, if you want to add a contact to your Google Hangouts list, learn how to add someone on Google Hangouts on your computer or mobile phone.
Hiding a contact is the closest you can get to putting out of sight someone on the Google Hangouts contact list.
However, this doesn’t mean that the contact is gone forever. On the contrary, they can still be found in the “Hidden contacts” menu.
The contact will be removed from the contact list.
Note: the option is not available for iPhone and iPad users.
Deleting a conversation in Google Hangouts won’t permanently delete the contact, nor will it remove it from the contact list. It will simply delete all your messaging history with a specific contact.
Following the steps below will help you permanently delete a conversation you had with someone if you no longer need it.
Also, if you experience trouble connecting to Google Chats, make sure to read our article on how to fix this issue.
Archiving a conversion means you will remove the conversation from your active chat list, but you will also be able to revisit the conversion in the future if needed.