Messaging apps are a huge part of social networks. Instagram, for example, devotes significant resources towards developing its messaging service. On the other hand, Facebook has its own messaging app called Facebook Messenger.
Pinterest is no exception. The platform also offers a messaging feature that allows users to send text messages and pins.
When compared with other social media platforms and their messaging features, Pinterest's are significantly less sophisticated.
Pinterest users can only send text messages and pins, meaning that there aren’t any other options that support different messaging formats.
In addition, many users are wondering if there is a delete option for Pinterest messages. In the past, users could delete sent messages on Pinterest by holding the messages for a few seconds and then taping on delete.
However, the option is no longer available, and users can now only hide their Pinterest messages.
As previously mentioned, Pinterest users cannot delete messages permanently, even when they send a message or pin to the wrong person.
Once you send the message, the recipient will receive it, and all you can do is send another message explaining that you made a mistake with the first.
However, users can hide their messages for safety purposes, block or report someone on Pinterest.
Steps to hide messages on Pinterest:
Steps to hide messages on Pinterest from laptop:
The text messages won't be deleted from your account, just the conversation won't display once you tap on the messaging icon.
In addition, once you click on the messaging icon, you will still be able to see the person’s name.
As soon as you tap on the name of the person you were speaking with, the entire conversation will reappear.
Pinterest is a place for discovering creative ideas.
The messaging feature is kept simple and straightforward, so users can focus mostly on exchanging creative ideas and pins.
Several online sources suggest that the older Pinterest version still supports the deletion function, so if you're one of the lucky few, simply hold down the message you want to delete and tap the delete button.